Caroline Möller
Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Environmental Engineering /Renewable Energies

Contakt
Reiner Lemoine Institut gGmbH
Rudower Chaussee 12
12489 Berlin

T +49 30 1208 434 75
E-Mail: caroline.moeller@rl-institut.de

Research topic

Storage demand and system costs in the electricity supply from the perspective of energy regions and communities

With the transformation of the energy supply to renewables the concept of energy regions has been established. Those are regions which focus a substantive development of renewables within their region and an independence of the import of fossil fuels. In this context a self-sufficient energy supply plays a major role. Calculations of self-sufficiency base most of the time on pure mathematics by balancing annual generation and consumption and therefore do not consider the fluctuating profile of photovoltaic and wind energy which are seen as the fundament of renewable energy supply. Within the Ph.D. project a bridge between the partly abstract ambitions of energy autarky which base on annual balances and real autarky is built. On the example of the region Osnabrück-Steinfurt and by applying energy system modelling questions concerning real autarky through the development of renewables, system costs and storage demand and synergy effects by changing the system size are addressed. Especially, transferring these questions to the energy community level is focused as the subject of autarky is promoted on the community level by a bunch of pilot projects and business models whereas on the regional level it is often criticized. Advantages of synergies by combining several households are already an argument on the community level, the system size, however, is considerably smaller than the regional one. Target of the Ph.D. project is to analyze both system levels from a techno-economic viewpoint by using model calculations and consequently evaluate their relationship.

Keywords

energy system modelling, scenario analysis, storage demand, energy regions, community storage

Supervision

First supervisor: Prof. Dr. Martin Faulstich, TU Clausthal
Second supervisor: Prof. Dr. Sandra Rosenberger, Hochschule Osnabrück
University: TU Clausthal

Vita

Caroline Möller is researcher in the field of Transformation of Energy Systems since 2011. She focuses on the simulation of regional electricity and heat supply scenarios and on the development of relevant modeling frameworks. She is part of the developer and user group of the open source modelling framework oemof (open energy modelling framework). Caroline Möller studied Environmental Engineering/Renewable Energies at the University of Applied Sciences Berlin. Since December 2013 she investigates the integration of storages in so-called energy regions and analyzes self-sufficient supply scenarios on a regional and community level in her Ph.D. project. The Ph.D. project is part of the research project “EOS – Energiespeicherlösungen in der Region Osnabrück-Steinfurt” at the University of Applied Sciences Osnabrück.

 

CV (Englisch) 

Publications

C. Möller, A. Pfeif, M. Faulstich, S. Rosenberger, Batteriespeicher in Industrie und Gewerbe – Strombezugskosten und wirtschaftliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten. BWK 69 (2017) Nr. 7/8, Pages 52-56.

C. Möller, K. Kuhnke, M. Reckzügel, H.-J. Pfisterer, S. Rosenberger, Energy Storage Potential in the Northern German Region Osnabrück-Steinfurt. 2016 International Energy and Sustainability Conference (IESC), Cologne, 2016, pp. 1-7. doi: 10.1109/IESC.2016.7569497

C. Möller, M. Faulstich, S. Rosenberger, Storage demand in interconnected central and residential electricity systems. 2016 10th International Renewable Energy Storage Conference, Düsseldorf.

C. Möller, S. Rosenberger, M. Faulstich, Speicherbedarf in Energieregionen unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Autarkiegrade. 2015 9. Internationale Energiewirtschaftstagung, Wien.

...

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Caroline Möller


Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Umwelttechnik/Regenerative Energien

Contakt
Reiner Lemoine Institut gGmbH
Rudower Chaussee 12
12489 Berlin

T +49 30 1208 434 75
E-Mail: caroline.moeller@rl-institut.de

Forschungsthema

Speicherbedarf und Systemkosten in der Stromversorgung aus der Perspektive von Energieregionen und energetischen Quartieren

Mit dem Ausbau von Erneuerbaren Energien (EE) auf regionaler Ebene hat sich das Konzept der Energieregion etabliert. Dabei handelt es sich um Regionen, die einen intensiven Ausbau von EE und eine Unabhängigkeit vom Import fossiler Ressourcen anstreben. In diesem Kontext spielt die autarke Energieversorgung eine zentrale Rolle. Die oft bilanziellen Berechnungen von Autarkie berücksichtigen keinen Ausgleich der fluktuierenden Stromerzeugung durch Speicher und vernachlässigen damit ein wesentliches Merkmal der fluktuierenden EE Windenergie und Photovoltaik, die als das Fundament einer erneuerbaren Energieversorgung gelten. Das Promotionsvorhaben stellt eine Verbindung zwischen rechnerischer und realer Autarkie her und beschäftigt sich am Beispiel der Region Osnabrück-Steinfurt und auf Basis von Energiesystemmodellen mit der Frage, welche realen Autarkiegrade zwangsläufig durch den Ausbau von EE erreicht werden, wie sich höhere reale Autarkiegrade auf Speicherbedarf und Systemkosten auswirken und welche Synergieeffekte sich beim Zusammenschalten von mehreren Regionen ergeben. Besonderer Fokus liegt darauf, diese Fragen auf die Quartiersebene übertragen. Das Thema Autarkie auf regionaler Ebene ist umstritten, gleichzeitig gibt es auf der Quartiersebene als Zusammenschluss von mehreren Haushalten viele Pilotprojekte und Geschäftsmodelle. So werden als Vorteil von Quartieren oft die Synergieeffekte bei Erzeugung und Verbrauch angebracht, die Systemebene ist jedoch eine deutlich kleinere als die der regionalen. Ziel der Promotion ist es, anhand von Modellrechnungen diese beiden Systemebenen aus technisch-ökonomischer Sicht zu analysieren und deren Zusammenhang zu bewerten.

Keywords

Energiesystemmodellierung, Szenarienanalyse, Speicherbedarf, Energieregionen, Quartierspeicher

Betreuung

Erstgutachter: Prof. Dr. Martin Faulstich, TU Clausthal
Zweitgutachter: Prof. Dr. Sandra Rosenberger, Hochschule Osnabrück
Ort der Promotion: TU Clausthal

Vita

Caroline Möller ist seit 2011 am Reiner Lemoine Institut im Forschungsfeld Transformation von Energiesystemen tätig. Ihr Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Simulation von regionalen Strom- und Wärmeversorgungsszenarien und der Entwicklung entsprechender Modellierungsumgebungen. Sie ist Teil der Entwickler- und Anwendergruppe um den open-source Modellierungsframework oemof (open energy modelling framework). Caroline Möller studierte Umwelttechnik/Regenerative Energien an der Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin. Seit Dezember 2013 beschäftigt sie sich in ihrer Promotion mit der Integration von Speichern in sogenannte Energieregionen und dem Vergleich von autarken Versorgungsszenarien auf regionaler und Quartiersebene. Ihr Promotionsvorhaben ist eingegliedert in den Forschungsschwerpunkt „EOS – Energiespeicherlösungen in der Region Osnabrück-Steinfurt“ der Hochschule Osnabrück.

 

CV (Englisch) 

Publications

C. Möller, A. Pfeif, M. Faulstich, S. Rosenberger, Batteriespeicher in Industrie und Gewerbe – Strombezugskosten und wirtschaftliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten. BWK 69 (2017) Nr. 7/8, Pages 52-56.

C. Möller, K. Kuhnke, M. Reckzügel, H.-J. Pfisterer, S. Rosenberger, Energy Storage Potential in the Northern German Region Osnabrück-Steinfurt. 2016 International Energy and Sustainability Conference (IESC), Cologne, 2016, pp. 1-7. doi: 10.1109/IESC.2016.7569497

C. Möller, M. Faulstich, S. Rosenberger, Storage demand in interconnected central and residential electricity systems. 2016 10th International Renewable Energy Storage Conference, Düsseldorf.

C. Möller, S. Rosenberger, M. Faulstich, Speicherbedarf in Energieregionen unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Autarkiegrade. 2015 9. Internationale Energiewirtschaftstagung, Wien.

...

Bitte verwenden Sie einen aktuellen Browser, damit die Website korrekt funktioniert.

Sie sollten noch heute aktualisieren.